Susan Baellor-Snyder

Susan Baellor-Snyder is a textile artist who uses natural manila rope to create ‘free-woven’ wall hung sculptures. I discovered her work on textileartist.org and was drawn to it because of the material. I like the tough nature of the rope, it sits between a soft textile, made from fibers, and something more rigid like wire, with the same pliable and mouldable nature. I also like the organic nature of the material, the colours and texture. Her compositions are very complex, she uses ropes and twines in different weights, for both structure and embellishment, making use of knotting techniques and functional and decorative stitches. I prefer a looser appearance with more in between spaces taking this into my own practice. Having read an interview with the artist, I really like her style of working. She says that the process is spontaneous ans intuitive, and the work just flows. This is a method of working that I intend to carry into my own practice.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

http://www.textileartist.org/susan-beallor-snyder-interview-manila-rope-sculptures/

 

Susan Baellor-Snyder