Project Evaluation

My starting point for FMP was a desire to fuse textiles practices with sculptural materials such as ceramics and plaster. Within these guidelines, I have explored several new processes such as fabric casting and using combustibles within ceramics. A key theme in my project has been the boundaries between hard and soft, rigid and pliable, smooth and textured. The lines between freedom and control have also been crucial. I have been using plaster as a means of encasing textiles, allowing them to become solid forms, this process is very control limited, the materials decide the final form dependent on weight and stretch. Other processes such as hand knotting and arm knitting have been much more controlled because of a defined method of working.

I have refined my visual aims to achieve a very specific aesthetic focusing on organic form, natural material and diluted colour. I have tried to allow my forms to be created of their own will, and have allowed the fibrous nature of materials such as rope and woven surface texture of calico to show through as much as possible. My colour palette has been absolutely minimal, I chose to embrace the natural colours of my chosen materials avoiding adding any pigments to my work. I believe that this has developed as a core part of my personal aesthetic.

I have been very ambitious in my working practice, undertaking a number of lengthy processes, and have worked to a scale much larger than I have previously been used to. I have been invested in my processes as many of them only allowed one chance to get right, the result is a unique piece that can’t be replicated. At times my processes have felt performance-like because of this. I felt that it was important for me to push through my comfort zone in order to produce an exciting body of work worthy of an end of year show.

Several artists have influenced my work, including Eva Hesse, Jason Schneider and Alisa Dworsky. I feel that have taken inspiration from these artists work and used it to develop my own project resulting in work that is solely mine but has identifiable influences. I feel that my work has been successful as I have achieved the goals that I set out initially and have grown in confidence through practicing new skills. I have uncovered areas for further development in my ongoing work beyond Foundation, and have started exploring themes which I would like to continue with into degree level.

Project Evaluation